On a quest..

I feel that it might take a little while for me to get into it. Into the blogging I mean.

I’ve really had this thought about blogging about my life and what I’ve been doing for a while, simply to share and connect with others, but postponed it every time on the basis that it would be too narcissistic (no offense to all you enthused bloggers out there, I’m now one of you).
It just seemed to me that my ideas and experiences posted online would be mostly too trivial and unimportant to anyone reading it, instead I chose of connecting in real life and knowing for sure that who your talking with is actually interested. I was afraid that if blogging, I would be ranting (as I feel I’m doing right now).

But recent strings of thought in my head have ended up to the conclusion that it might just be the best idea after all. In any case I feel that my situation as a curious student and citizen of Amsterdam (yep, that’s where I live) has to resonate at least with a few people out there. What I mean by that is that if you are early twenties like me, studying, working a job to pay rent, dreaming about life after you graduate, thinking of entrepreneurship (like I’ve done before) or working at a big firm (as I’m contemplating right now), partying with friends, being in the first years of your life where you’re on your own, paying your own bills, starting to make adult choices and/or also discovering what you like and dislike, well then, we have something in common.
That’s not to say that you’ll start to religiously follow my blog (which would of course be a great idea for you). I think you’ll agree with my that a blog has to be about just a lot more then superficial things we have in common. And I think in this case, this blog, we will have something in common, or at least something we’ll both care about.
I mean us, you and me. I care about myself. A lot. But I also care about you. How do we develop a lifestyle where both of us have it great, without having to sacrifice. This really keeps me up nights. How do I succeed, but also make the world a better place. How do I help better the economy, but also the environment. What are my daily wastes? What do I spend thats completely unnecessary for anyone (like buying a plastic bag at the supermarket instead of already bringing one. That’s actually a thing in Amsterdam)?

That’s what this blog will be about. (Also thank you for keeping up with me so far. As I said, I anticipated it would take a little for me to get into it.)
This blog will allow you to follow me on my quest. A quest where we might share a few common grounds. I like food, fitness, technology, design, architecture, fashion, health care, politics, all the usual. But I like it sustainable, without getting all to worked up about it. I like organic food, without getting to extreme about everything that you put in your mouth. I like fashion that’s produced for a fair price without any child labour, but I don’t want to get all into activism.

Most of all I’d like to be the best me I can be. I like parties, I like good food, good company and nice wine. I like working out and looking good but I don’t want to send out the vibe that I’m superficial.
But you know what’s most important about all this, I love to do and share everything with friends.

I love my friends and family. I feel like I have a responsibility to them, to be the best I can be and help everybody achieve the same. I want to share knowledge, experience and love. I want all my friends to feel safe and find comfort.
So everything that I do, learn and think that might in some way, how small even, have a positive effect on anybody, should be shared. It should be shared, discussed, viewed in different perspectives and learned from.

So that’s what I’d like you to become. I’d like you to become my friend. So we can share ideas and interests that we can discuss and learn from. I’d like you to follow me on my quest because I hope it will help you as it helps me. And always, whenever you feel like it, let me know how you feel. As I’m doing to you right now.

Now let’s get started

Roger Rosweide

Leave a Reply

